Super Recovery Green Juice

Recovery_green_juice

It’s no secret that I run A LOT.

As an ultramarathoner, it’s not just when I’m racing that I run long — I have to train for those long races, too. And after a 20-mile, 25-mile or even 30-mile traning run, my body is totally zapped, no matter how well I ate before and during the run.

Generally, I have a protein shake right after a long run, usually like this one, but sometimes, I need a little something extra after the protein shake and my next full meal, just to keep flooding my body with the right post-run nutrients to fight inflammation and encourage recovery.

That’s where this green juice comes in handy. It’s chock full of vitamins and antioxidents, plus the pineapple and ginger contain powerful anti-inflammatory substances. I added in some liquid coconut kefir probiotic just for some extra oomph, though it’s totally optional.

Super Recover Green Juice

1 head celery

1 head kale

1 head broccoli (with stem)

4 medium carrots, peeled

1 cup chopped pineapple

1 inch ginger root, peeled

Lemon juice (to taste)

Liquid probiotic (1 tablespoon)

Run everything except the lemon juice and probiotic through the ginger. This should make about a quart of juice. Squirt in lemon juice and stir in probiotic. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

